Sufjan Stevens - All Delighted People EP

Sufjan Stevens All Delighted People EP

It's been 5 years since Illinois and finally some real, full-blown, new Sufjan Stevens music in the form of the All Delighted People EP. It does not disappoint.

The EP's title track is a fantastic, 11 minute epic that swells and dips into a minimalistic bridge that flows into a dissonant, string-filled finish. Enchanting Ghost is a lush barrage of string instruments and reminds you why Sufjan Stevens is the only person who can make the banjo sound pretty. After that, the album goes into a welcome, folky lull with Heirloom, From The Mouth of Gabriel, The Owl And The Tanager only to return with All Delighted People (Classic Rock Version), which is in reality more a "brass version" than a "classic rock version" of the title track with an awesome synth and guitar finish. Arnika delivers awesome lyrics like "Don’t consider it done wait until Leviathan lovingly creeps in your sill For he waits in the dark, brooding magically; mustering paperback feelings." And lastly the greatest song on the album Djohariah, which Steven's own Bandcamp page calls "17-minute guitar jam-for-single-mothers." The first 6 minutes is a twangy guitar solo growing louder which, of course, evolves into a synth solo with fantasic choir chanting "Djohariah, Djohariah!" The actually singing doesn't start until 12 minutes in, but it's worth the journey.


1. All Delighted People (Original Version)
2. Enchanting Ghost
3. Heirloom
4. From the Mouth of Gabriel
5. The Owl and the Tanager
6. All Delighted People (Classic Rock Version)
7. Arnika
8. Djohariah

Jose P.
Staff Writer - Indie Artists

Share this