Monster Magnet - Mastermind

Monster Magnet Mastermind CD Cover

I was excited when I received the email asking to review the new Monster Magnet "Mastermind". So lets dive in to this. I am happy to say there is not a better way to start off this review than by saying Monster Magnet is back! I first got into this band on "Dopes to Infinity" and was hooked ever since. "Powertrip" quickly put me over the top as a Monster Magnet fan, and I still find myself cranking up Space Lord, Powertrip and Crop Circles.

I wasn't sure what to expect when I first put on "Mastermind", but it didn't disappoint once I began to play it.

The CD blasts off with "Hallucination Bomb". The intro bass riff has this infectious, sludge groove to get things started off right. The song is killer and Dave's vocals are at the top of his game. This leads into "Bored with Sorcery. Another bass riff gets us going and as the hook approaches I found myself cranking up the volume and banging my head. This track just rips. So far we are 2 for 2 on "Mastermind" and I am stoked on where this CD is headed.

"Dig That Hole", has another bass riff to begin the song, which I happen to find refreshing, since everything always starts with a guitar riff. I love the vocals on this track. As I mentioned earlier Dave sounds incredible on "Mastermind."

"The Titan Who Cried Like a Baby", takes you on an eery space trip throughout the songs entirety. I love it. Sounds different than anything that is out there musically. Things slow down with "Time Machine". There is something that is extremely weird about this tune. It's like I am having some dream or some weird out of body experience. Things pick back up with "When the Planes Fall From the Sky" that is just a straight up rock n roll tune. The second "ballad" style tune is "Ghost Story." Another trippy experience. A great track to just crank up and let your mind go.

Monster Magnet has returned with a 12 song kick ass disc that needs to be in the collection. Even if your only exposure to Monster Magnet is through the hit "Space Lord" you must check out "Mastermind". The disc hits stores on October 26th and I can promise you will be cranking this one up during our live and recorded programs.

"Mastermind" track listing:

01. Hallucination Bomb
02. Bored With Sorcery
03. Dig That Hole
04. Gods and Punks
05. The Titan Who Cried Like A Baby
06. Mastermind
07. 100 Million Miles
08. Perish In Fire
09. Time Machine
10. When The Planes Fall From The Sky
11. Ghost Story
12. All Outta Nothin'

Twitter: BryanCShaw
Twitter: MFNRocks

Share this